Journal Entry #3 – After Camp Reflections

August 19, 2011

Wow. I really did mean to write much more consistently during the camp than I did. But instead, literally every minute was spent either working or investing in relationships with others. The few minutes I had in between were spent sleeping (like, five hours a night). But the investment was so worth it. While the content taught wasn’t particularly new, I did come away with a lot of value. For one, while the project we did was something I had done before, and thus was not particularly difficult, it resulted in some great ideas that I may find to be worth investing in. If I can find one or two business ideas from the camp that actually take off, and can get on board with those ideas as a consultant, that would provide great experience for my consulting firm idea. More on that later.

But of course the best thing coming out of this camp is the relationships I built. From housemates to business partners, hours-long conversations resulted in ties not easily broken by time or distance. Many of these people I will never see again. But I know that if one day I am traveling in places like Brazil, the UK, Bulgaria, Serbia, or Tajikistan, I will have a friendly face to greet me. And the vice versa is also true. A big theme of this camp was (as I’ve talked about before here) adding value to others. I don’t need to measure the investment value before knowing that I would gladly go out of my way to do whatever I could for many of these people. So once again the greatest lesson of business is affirmed: be intentional in investing in relationships. It will always pay off and is always the best investment you can make. There’s your tip of the week, now go live it out.

Leave a Reply

